A Spa and Burger Day

A few weeks ago I went for a pamper day at Kukana Spa, which is set inside the beautiful 4-star Orsett Hall Hotel in Essex.

Orsett Hall has beautiful grounds where weddings are often held, as well as a gym, spa, an on site hair dressers and a restaurant amongst other things. It’s around a 25 minute drive from where I live and despite being close to main roads and a large shopping centre, it has a relaxed, countryside feel.

Below is some photos of the outside of the hotel and the grounds.

image

image

image

image

Inside the hotel there’s large chandeliers and thrones to sit on.

image

image

The waiting room at the spa has comfortable chairs, as well as dim lighting to help start the relaxation process.

image

image

I opted for the three treatments I usually have at Kukana, starting with the Hot Stone Massage. I like this treatment as the hot stones really seem to relieve soreness and achiness, better than a hands on massage does.

The massage was followed by the ESPA Aromatherapy Facial. To start this facial you smell different oils and the ones you choose are supposed to indicate what your body needs. The facial is a thorough treatment, with scrubs, masks, warming treatments and a face and head massage being part of the experience.

The last treatment I had was the Spa Pedicure, where my feet were scrubbed, massaged and my nails painted. I opted for a pink OPI nail polish and asked for glitter to be painted on top for a fun twist.

image

image

A photo of me after my spa treatments. Looking sleepy but content.

image

Feeling refreshed and rested, it was time for food. Me and my partner drove to the nearby shopping centre Lakeside, which is where I do most of my shopping. We walked along the Boardwalk where there’s a pretty lake to Gourmet Burger Kitchen, which is one of our favourite places to eat.

image

We ordered a Classic Beef Burger and the Classic Veggie for me, Skinny and Chunky Skin-On-Fries with Bbq and Smoked Chilli Mayo dips. As we often go, we got a free Oreo Milkshake to try, which was delicious.

image

image

image

Full up and sleepy, it was time to head back to the car and go home.

35 thoughts on “A Spa and Burger Day

    1. It’s my favourite spa, I always feel super relaxed after going there☺ Aaw thank you. Haha they are. A lot of people eat healthy after a spa day but not me. I love a burger☺😂 x

      Like

  1. such a lovely day, lazy and yet full of memories! i love the look of the area around the spa. really gorgeous photos! and that lake! it looks like such an inviting spot. thanks for sharing your lovely day

    Liked by 2 people

    1. It was a lovely lazy day, yet the simple things like the scenery stick in my mind. The area around the spa is really pretty and peaceful. I’d love to stay at the hotel one day. The lake is gorgeous. You get gorgeous sunsets there and it’s right next to a big shopping centre, so you wouldn’t expect a peaceful lake. Glad you enjoyed seeing my day☺ x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. i love to discover such places, just when you feel the city has no more to offer and you are so drained then you find a place like this and you love living in the city again!

        Liked by 2 people

      2. You can always find beautiful, tranquil places even in busy places like where I live. There’s restaurants next to the lake, so it’s lovely to eat outside in the summer x

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi-5 for being a burger and chips girl too! That food looks so tasty, I bet it was delicious! You look so refreshed and glowy after your spa treatments 🙂 did your partner have any pampering done haha?

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Haha well a veggie burger and chips for me😂 The food is always so nice at GBK. It’s not the cheapest burger and chips but it just tastes great! Aaw thank you. My skin looked a lot healthier and glowy after going. Haha no he hates all that. He sits in the car watching Youtube videos when I go to the spa haha x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. True. We love GBK, so we’d rather pay that bit more for nice food☺ Haha I’ve asked if he wanted any treatments but he never does. He can’t stand me even putting a bit of face cream on any dry patches of his, so I couldn’t imagine him having treatments😂 xx

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I think I always take a picture of the chandelier whenever I go there. It’s so pretty☺ The scents I always seem to choose are for congested skin prone to blemishes. So it tends to be calming oils to rebalance my skin. Aah thank you so much. I look forward to doing it and thank you for your kind words☺ x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. oh I love the scent of ylang ylang! I´m thinking Maybe if I add it to a pot of boiling water and do a steam treatment it would have the same effect? I´m going to give it a go. Ah awesome, I´ll keep an eye out x

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment