January & February Empties

It’s been quite a while since I’ve done an empties post, so here’s some of the products I used up the past two months. 

Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara

The first two months of using this mascara, I absolutely hated it. I found the handle chunky and awkward to hold and the mascara far too wet. However, once the mascara dried out, it made my lashes look thick and fluttery and I found myself pretty impressed. 

Repurchase? I would give it another chance. 

Ole Henriksen Clean Truth Cleansing Cloths

I got these cleansing cloths in my Look Fantastic advent calendar and I was really excited to try them out, but they were truly awful!

I like citrus scented products, but these smelt like floor wipes. They were also too thick and I had to use three wipes just to remove light makeup. Not impressed.

Repurchase? Definitely not! 

Sephora Rose Face Mask

When I did a product swap with Stashy recently, she sent me this Sephora sheet mask and I loved it! It’s the first time I’ve tried a mask from Sephora and this moisture one worked wonders. 

I have combination skin, but after my recent holiday my skin looked a bit dull and dehydrated. This mask provided a tonne of moisture and would be amazing to pack for flights or to use if you have very dry skin. 

Repurchase? Yes! If I’m ever on holiday near a Sephora, I’ll be stocking up. 

Boots Cucumber Eye Gel

This has been one of my go-to products for a long time and it’s super affordable too. I use this first thing in the morning to cool my under-eye area and reduce any puffiness. This really helps make my eyes feel fresh and more awake, so I can’t be without it.

Repurchase? I already have. 

Lush Tea Tree Toner Water

This is another product that I’ve been using for years. Lush’s toners are incredibly gentle and don’t strip the skin of moisture, which is why I love them.

Repurchase? I already have. 

Nip + Fab Glycolic Fix Night Pads Extreme

When I bought some Nip + Fab bits a while back, it worked out that I could get another item for only a few pound more, so I picked this up.

These pads are meant to be great at decongesting skin, reducing pores and getting rid of dead skin, but for me it did the opposite and made all of these issues worse. 

Repurchase? No.

Cristophe Robin Regenerating Hair Mask

This is another item that I got in my Look Fantastic advent calendar. I took this on holiday with me to use after my visit to the Blue Lagoon and initially I was impressed with how soft this mask left my hair. However, even after a few uses the ends of my hair were still dry. 

Repurchase? No. 

Philip Kingsley Elasticizer Coconut Breeze

I got this Elasticizer in the Tili Beauty Box and I found it amazing! You can apply this as a mask before shampooing and conditioning or leave it on overnight for a more intense treatment. 

I used this before shampooing and it left my hair feeling soft and in great condition.

Repurchase? Yes. I definitely need the full sized tube of this.

The Body Shop Spiced Apple and Cocoa Butter Shower Gels

I got both of these for Christmas and the Spiced Apple one which was limited edition, smelt fantastic. It had a spicy but sweet smell that I loved, I just wish I’d stocked up.

I tried the Cocoa Butter shower gel for the first time and didn’t like it at all. Despite loving other Cocoa Butter items from The Body Shop, this shower gel had a strange, off smell that wasn’t pleasant.

Repurchase? If the Spiced Apple shower gel was still available I would, but no to the Cocoa Butter one.  

Let me know if you’ve tried any of these products. 

35 thoughts on “January & February Empties

  1. I find that a lot of mascaras get better after a month being open – there’s a peak period of perfect wetness and then it just gets clumpy! The Maybelline Lash Sensation surprised me – I ended up really liking it too.
    I picked up the Body Shop Spiced Apple shower gel – I can’t wait to use it!
    So glad you enjoyed that Sephora mask! They have a number of types so you can try them out – I saw on Rachael’s blog that she likes the Pomegranate one.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree, once they dry out they get better. Some are so wet at the start though, they become a pain to use. I really liked the Spiced Apple shower gel, so enjoy your bottle😊 I really liked it. I’d definitely like to try more. I still have the sleeping mask from there that you sent me☺ I saw that too. The pomegranate one sounds lovely. Btw just used the B&BW’s Candy Apple Bath Fizzer. It smelt so good! X

      Like

  2. I wonder if the Cocoa Butter shower gel has the same smell the body lotion has. It’s not the nice chocolatey-nutty scent of the body butter but a kind of chemical, paint smell? I got the Maybelline mascara in Stashy’s giveaway and I quite like it. The formula does seem a bit wet but it’s not smudgy or messy xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It did smell a bit chemically and just not like the body butter at all. It’s a shame. My mascara was initially so wet my lashes would clump badly. After it dried up a bit, I started to really like the mascara☺ xx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I remember smelling that Spiced Apple scent at TBS and it was so lovely! I hope they bring it back next Christmas.
    The Philip Kingsley hair mask sounds awesome. Does it smell like coconut too? Because that’s always a win!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Ole Henrikson is one of my favorite brands, but I a not a huge fan of the Power Truth Line (not what I need for my skin) but love their transformation line. Their peel is unbelievable!
    I love Sephora’s masks and the rose one is one of my favorites! ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I bought the Maybelline mascara and it worked like a dream for the first month but got so cakey and flakey and looked horrible on my lashes (opposite of yours haha!) apparently it dries out really quick and is a common gripe people write about on makeupalley

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It does dry out pretty quickly but it did work better for me. I found it an okay mascara but I’ve since tried some like a Tarte mascars that I much prefer😊 x

      Like

Leave a comment